P1000462 Well it’s finally happened. After a long and (to my mind) dark and dreary winter, spring has arrived and to prove it here’s a photo of some of the daffodils that have appeared in my garden. Gorgeous, aren’t they? There’s something magical about daffodils. They cheer you up with their wonderful colour and fill you with hope for the year ahead. And I am really looking forward to the rest of this year, too.

After a great deal of thought, I have decided to move house and have put my home on the market. It’s been a big decision because I have loved living here but it’s time I made some changes to my life and moving to somewhere smaller makes a lot of sense. I already have a place to move to, a lovely modern apartment overlooking the canal and the fields beyond. There’s lots of footpaths for long country walks, easy access to both Liverpool and Manchester for some serious shopping, and a cosy little hostelry (pub!) that serves delicious food just five minutes’ walk away. Add to that the fact that I shall be even nearer to my grandchildren and I just know that I shall be very happy there.

I have also booked a holiday to Cornwall with my friend, Charlotte. We intend to visit the Eden Project and the Lost Gardens then tour some of the wonderful little fishing villages. It’s been a while since I last visited the area and I am really looking forward to re-discovering all the various places. St Ives is high up my list and Mousehole and… I could go on and on but I don’t want to bore you!

As I said, spring is a time of hope, a time to make plans and look to the future and that’s what I am doing. I haven’t forgotten my bucket list, i.e. all the things I intend to do before I depart this earth; in fact, I ticked off another one by making use of my National Trust membership and visiting the impressive Quarry Bank Mill at Styal in Cheshire last weekend. (It’s well worth a visit if you are in the area.) I feel full of hope and get-up and go and I hope you do too.

Have you made any plans for this year? I would love to hear all about them. In the meantime, I shall leave you with a another spring time photo, this time of my dog, Gus, basking in the sun in the conservatory. He’s certainly enjoying the spring!
love,
Jennifer.

P1000464

